Mean, Green, Fruit and Veggie Smoothie

Last Saturday, I had the privilege of working my “alternative baking” booth at a Wellness Fair. Directly across from my booth, was a fellow “healthy friend.” She sells Juice Plus, but does it out of a passion for promoting healthy bodies/healthy eating. Our booths were open from 10-2, so during that time she got to hear my pitch to the people about 50 times, and I got to hear hers.

One thing I kept hearing her say over and over again was the importance of eating fruits and vegetables. Well, duh, I know this, but the more people I was hearing her talk to, the more I was thinking about my own personal diet and if I was actually consuming enough fruits and vegetables. After much thought, I realized the answer was a glaring NO. Oh man, here I am preaching healthy eating, but I’m neglecting a major part of my plate! I was maybe getting 2 servings of fruits and veggies A DAY! Then I starting think about my kids diet and if they were lacking too.

A big part of my problem is laziness. I actually LOVE LOVE raw, cooked, any-which-way-veggie. Why am I so short on them? Lazy, Lazy, Lazy. Veggies are super good for you, and there aren’t really many calories in them, depending on the kind. So this week, I’ve been focusing on fruits and veggies and making sure we all get our daily dose, plus some!

Breakfast seemed like the perfect place to put a bunch of healthy nutrition, and plus, Hannah Grace decided that she was tired of our “standard breakfast.” Thus, our “Mean, Green, Fruit and Veggie Smoothie” was born.

The recipe isn’t a secret, and I’m sure it’s been done a thousand times by many other chefs. I used whatever I had in my house, and made sure it had it all: fruit, veggie, and protein.

In a blender (I have a $70 Ninja…so nothing fancy needed!) add:

  • 8 oz. almond milk,
  • 1 c. fresh spinach,
  • 1/2 c. pineapple,
  • 1/2 c. blueberries,
  •  3 strawberries,
  • 1 teaspoon of flaxseed.

Blend. Sprinkle in your choice of protein powder and enjoy!

I know it sounds weird with the spinach, but I promise you can’t taste it! I feel great about about serving this to my kids. I know now they are getting some fresh greens, because it is hard to get that down them!

Image

Leave a Reply

