Where’s the PB&J?

When people hear that we don’t eat bread, the first reaction is “Well then! What in the world does your children eat for lunch?!?!…..You mean, no peanut butter and jelly sandwiches?”

Honestly, I’m not sure what all the shock is about. It doesn’t seem that strange that my kids don’t get their daily dose of sugar sandwich, er, I mean PB&J. There are tons of other options out there for lunchtime.

One of my favorite bloggers “100 days of real food” frequently posts pictures of what her kids eat for lunch. It’s often “weird” and lacking the PB&J too. An example might be: popcorn, carrots and celery with humus, and strawberries. Yes, REAL FOOD for lunch! I know PB&J is popular because it’s simple. But the lunches she prepares for her kids are very simple too. Lunches…or any other meal…don’t have to be complicated to be healthy and taste good.

Anyways, this past week my two girls (8 and 7) went to a day camp. Being homeschooled, we usually eat lunch at home, but of course I’ve had to do my share of lunch box packing over the past few years. This week was a good opportunity to see what I could come up with. Both lunches took me about 3-5 minutes to throw together and pack. Nothing complicated, but no PB&J.

typical lunch and snack for my children

This lunch includes an afternoon snack on the way home from camp.

  • applesauce
  • baby carrots
  • Lays Natural Potato Chips
  • 2 Rice cakes with natural peanut butter
  • orange
  • fruit strip

“Easy, Breezy” as Julia would call it. Anyways, they have enjoyed their “to-go” lunches this week and friends around them have asked for samples of some of their “strange food”…..which really doesn’t seem all that strange, just not typical.

Leave a Reply

