Weird is the new normal

It seems that the more weird I become, the more normal I feel.

I have been reading the “Main Street Vegan” book for the past few days, and the stuff she is saying seems to be very much jiving with how I feel. I have to get over some of the stuff in the book about “animals” and “eating them” because to be honest, I don’t give much thought to that. But what I do find interesting is the push towards eating more vegetables and fruits and getting away from processed food and refined sugar.

I realized, in past few days of reading this book, that our family has crossed a new line I didn’t even realize we were crossing….we are mostly a vegetarian family. We chose to not eat pork or beef (except Shawn on a very RARE occasion!) about a year ago. I really haven’t found it to be very limiting. In fact, I don’t miss those two animals at all on my plate. We have been eating chicken, fish, and turkey for out meat.

Over the past few months, we have cut down on our chicken, turkey, and fish buying to maybe eating it once a week. I have no idea why. The idea of making beans and quinoa, or a large salad, for dinner has sounded better, and my kids (and Shawn too) don’t seem to mind my menu changes. So I didn’t really think much of it, until I start reading this book.

I’m not really that big on labels. “Oh, I’m a vegetarian.” “I’m  _____.” I try to eat and serve the best cleanest food I can to my family, but occasionally we do eat off our “clean menu.” And THAT’S OKAY! Although I have to say, that the last month of eating more “vegetarian like” I have never felt so good and (dare I say it….) normal.

So we’ll see where this adventure takes us. Shawn is gun-ho’ on whatever, because he is really reaping the benefits from eating more fruits and veggies. Skin is our largest organ, and obviously we can see it. In a way, I am thankful that Shawn’s skin reacts to the “bad food” because we can visibly see the effects it has on not only him, but myself and our kids too.

“You can get the dollar deal at a fast-food place and feel full, or spend a dollar and a half on a tomato. This discrepancy is a fairly recent one, and it’s largely due to government subsidies to the meat, dairy, soy, sugar, and corn industries. Subsidies have helped to make burgers and buckets and pitcher-sized sodas deceptively cheap, while the simple produce that ought to cost less is pricier. ” (Taken from ‘Main Street Vegan’ by: Victoria Moran)

Leave a Reply

