What’s in my pantry?

Many people have asked “well, what DO you eat then?” I guess when you remove processed and boxed foods, the list of “acceptable foods” seems small, but actually it has opened up a huge world for us that is full of endless possibilities. Remember: “Think outside the box!” (sorry, I keep quoting this but I have no other way of saying my point.)

Here is a picture of one shelf in my pantry, to give you an idea of what I store for snacks and meals. (Yes, my children have learned to eat all this stuff too!) I figured you wouldn’t be too interested in my ziplock bags or parchment paper shelf, but that’s in the pantry too.

image

Here is the list of contents of my pantry shelf (note not all are in the picture, but are a regular staple item in our house.):

  • Brown rice
  • Lentils
  • Raw almonds
  • Walnuts
  • Cinnamon almonds
  • Jasmine rice
  • Flaxseed
  • Quinoa
  • Pecans
  • Trail mix
  • Dried black beans
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Peanuts
  • Cashews
  • Vegan Protein powder
  • Gluten-free oatmeal
  • Almond butter
  • Raisins
  • Archer Farms real fruit strips
  • Natural no sugar applesauce
  • Canned beans (no salt added)

I try to buy most of these items in bulk from Sprouts or the local grocery store. They are not expensive items. At the beginning of our food change, it took us about 3 months to clean out what we already had. Every time I went to the store, I’d come home with some new find. I try to vary the snacks in the containers. Today, we have raisins. Sometimes, I buy other kinds of dried fruit, like apples. I check the labels because frequently dried fruit, for example, has added sugar….which I cannot understand since fruit is sweet by itself.
Anyways, that’s my pantry! (Baking Edition, coming soon!)

Kelly

One thought on “What’s in my pantry?

Leave a Reply

