What’s for Dinner?: Quinoa Spaghetti

Okay, sounds strange.

I wasn’t really sure how this would turn out. But I was desperate. It was 5:30 and I had four very hungry, whiny children at my feet asking “what’s for dinner, Mom?”

I quickly scanned the fridge and came up with this concoction. Julia said it “was the best meal ever!” She even went back for thirds. Guess that’s a success. So, I’m sharing! 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 2 Yellow Squash
  • 2 Zucchini Squash (the green ones….)
  • Marinara sauce (I chose a Sprouts brand, Garlic Flavored)
  • Quinoa, prepared in another pot

Directions:

Prepare quinoa in large pot as directed. In another pan, saute cut up pieces of yellow squash and zucchini squash. When tender, add jar of marinara sauce. Heat through. Serve sauce over the top of cooked quinoa.

Quinoa Squash Spaghetti

      What meal wouldn’t be complete without a nice side? Our side tonight was green grapes and cherries….yum!

2 thoughts on “What’s for Dinner?: Quinoa Spaghetti

  1. This is one thing three of us really miss in our family. Cayden is allergic to tomatoes so we rarely have a tomato dish. I’ve tried using red peppers, but I don’t know. Maybe I should try again. I was hoping you had Julienned your squash for “noodles,” but this works. Let’s try to have a play date (I’m up there often because Heather lives up there) before my kids go back to school. Of course, when you are back from vacay (when is that anyway?).

    • Julieened squash would be a great “noodle” replacement. But that would be a ton of work for 6meals. We have also use spaghetti squash in the past for “noodles”…which the kids LOVED! 🙂 I was looking for a protien replacement since we were not eating meat in this meal, thus the quinoa.

Leave a Reply

