Quinoa Recipes

For some reason, I have been bombarded with quinoa recipes. I love it! A few friends have sent me some new recipes to try and also a fellow blogger, Gazing In, had an entire post review on a book entitled: “500 Best Quinoa Recipes.”

In case you are “late to the party,” you can read my previous post on what quinoa is.

Here is a brownie recipe made from quinoa. WHAT? CRAZY!! …..which makes it completely grain-free. (It does contain butter and sugar…but that could be tweaked in my kitchen!)

This recipe is taken from “Mennonite Girls Can Cook” (Thanks Jeri for forwarding it!)

Dorothy’s Quinoa Brownie Recipe 

  • 2/3 cup quinoa
  • 1 1/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 – 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup cocoa
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  1. Bring quinoa and water to a boil. Cover and cook for 10 min.  Turn off heat and leave on burner for 10 min. more. Fluff with a fork and cool.
  2. Combine liquids, add quinoa and butter and blend till smooth in blender .
  3. Whisk together dry ingredients and add to blender and mix well.
  4. Pour into 2 greased round pans or 1 larger one.
  5. Bake at 350 F. for 40-45 min.
  6. Cool completely .
  7. Serve as is , iced or as a base for a fruit-topped dessert.
  8. You’ll never guess that these have no flour!

More Quinoa Recipes! Shape Magazine did a “Ten Ways to eat Quinoa” article (Thank you, Marloes!) In this article they give a recipe for some Vegan Chocolate Protein Bars that look AWESOME! 🙂

Anyways, some fun ways to eat the superfood: QUINOA!

Happy Baking!

Kelly

6 thoughts on “Quinoa Recipes

    • Can’t wait to read about it! I need to put the one you reviewed before on my “wish list.” I love the idea of grinding the quinoa into flour for pizza crust and such. The Bobs Red Mill quinoa flour is very expensive. I’m pretty sure I could make it cheaper buying quinoa in bulk.

      • Oh yes. I was shocked – at my local store the BRM quinoa flour was *gasp* $12.99 for 22 ounces. Ack!! I can get organic quinoa at Costco for what $3 a pound? Or less…I can’t remember. Anyhow, that is horrifying expensive! My dry container on my Vitamix pulverizes it perfectly.
        Pssstttt…..drop me an email and I can send you a link to the PR I am connected with. That is how I get many of my books 🙂 (They love us bloggers!)

Leave a Reply

