Applesauce Cake

I was craving something sweet, so I decided to try a new recipe from the book I got on our trip called “Wow, this is Sugar Free!” When I picked the book up and opened it, I was really expecting a book full of fake-sugar (a.k.a Splenda) recipes. I was surprised to find that all the sweeteners used in this book are things like applesauce, raisins, apple juice, Stevia, and barley malt….which I have to admit, I have NO idea what barley malt is….

The other attraction to this book was that all the recipes are wheat-free. All of the recipes use “whole-grain flour.” However, she is not very clear on what that means for us standing in the grocery store baking aisle. I am still not quite sure what “whole-grain flour” means. (Wow, this post is making me sound clueless….) šŸ˜‰

“Whole-grain flours contain the entire grain kernel (bran, germ, and endosperm)… [The difference is important to the body because] by consuming these types of grains verses refined grains (white flours), whole-grain-flours slow down the rate at which sugars enter the bloodstream.” (taken from pg 192 “Wow, this is Sugar-free.”)

Even after reading this, I was still a little clueless as to what this means in baking terms. All I knew is that wheat is a no-no in our house, and I wanted to use my new book to make a cake!

So, I did what any lazy baker does…start throwing things in the mixer! šŸ˜‰

I decided to go with spelt flour, since that seemed to be the closest to a “whole-grain flour” and doesn’t make my family react. Throw it into the mixer… (perfect!)

Next, comes the almost 2 cups of applesauce, along with cinnamon, nutmeg, and Stevia….(almost there…)

(oops, forgot the first step! GO BACK!) Yes, this lazy baker got ahead of herself and forgot the first step: “Combine in a large saucepan raisins and water and cook until soft.” says the recipe on page 91. I had never done this before….cooking raisins…..but it made for a great soft texture in the cake! I’m very glad I didn’t skip over this part!

Finally, finished the cake and popped it in the oven.

Yum, applesauce cake!!

Kelly

2 thoughts on “Applesauce Cake

Leave a Reply

