Double Chocolate Nut Butter Oaties

If this title isn’t enough to draw you in, I am lost at marketing.

Anytime I hear the words “chocolate” and “nut butter” in the same title, my mouth starts drooling. I love chocolate and peanut butter. This heavenly combination is one of the many reasons why, a mere 18 months ago, I was at my heaviest of almost 200 pounds. (AH!)

I have a sweet tooth….really bad. I think that’s why I’ve been drawn to alternative baking. My sweet tooth has changed over the past year and a half. I now crave the sweetness of fresh fruit and enjoy lightly sweetened treats. Refined sugar is now too sweet for my taste buds. But, I think, that is the way nature intended it to be.

Yesterday, Shirley (from glutenfreeeasily.com) posted an excellent recipe that I had to print off right away and try. Super simple, quick cookies that got 5 stars from everyone in my family.

The recipe calls for “nut butter,” (which can mean your favorite butter) and I would probably put in peanut butter as my first choice, if Julia didn’t have an allergy. I substituted “nut butter” for Sunbutter, which is sunflower seed ground up to make a butter. To me, it tastes very similar to peanut butter, but without oil and obviously, peanuts.

I also substituted Stevia/Cane sugar for the sugar in the recipe. The recipe calls for 3/4 to 1 cup of sugar, but trying to be as sugar-free as possible, I opted for 1/4 cup of Stevia/Cane sugar. I found this to be the perfect amount of sweetness. It took the bitterness of the cocoa powder away, and added a touch of sweet. Perfect!

Another item on the recipe list was “oat flour.” I didn’t have any pre-made oat flour. You can purchase some at the grocery store for some crazy price. I chose to not purchase it and just make my own.

Making your own flours is very cost effective. Unfortunately, I do not have a food processor, so making almond flour, for example, is out of the question for me…..until I get a food processor, *wink*! Today was my first attempt at making my own oat flour. I have a so-so quality blender. It’s nothing fancy but today it did a great job on making some homemade oat flour. (yay!)

To make oat flour: pour old fashioned oats in the blender, put the lid on, and press the “on” button. Blend for a few minutes, and then *TA-DA*: oat flour.

Popped the cookies in the oven, and the finished product was: TOTALLY AWESOME! šŸ™‚

You can get the recipe here at Gluten Free Easily: Double Chocolate Nut Butter Oaties.

Enjoy!!

Kelly

 

3 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Nut Butter Oaties

  1. Oh, Kelly, I love your slight variation! And isn’t it super easy to make your own oat flour? No need at all to buy the more expensive ready-made oat flour. šŸ˜‰ And wow on your weight loss in 18 months! You look fantastic, dear! šŸ™‚ Did you lose all the weight just by going gluten free? I’m pretty sure not, but have to ask. I need to follow your example!

    Last, I so, so appreciate you simply linking to my recipe. I’ve had an issue with other bloggers copying my recipes and saying “adapted” when nothing has been changed. I’m grateful to you for doing it the right way. You photo and your family’s review will certainly entice folks to make these cookies!

    xo,
    Shirley

    • Thank you, Shirley! Your very sweet. I have been working out (running, walking, and lifting weights) for the past 18 months also. I’ve lost about 50 pounds. šŸ™‚

      Going gluten-free didn’t come until 6 months into my weight lose transformation, when we realized my husband and 3/4 of my children weren’t tolerating it very well. I also realized that wheat was a another big culprit for my weight gain. ugh….

      Your welcome for linking! I do like giving credit where credit is due! šŸ™‚ I enjoy reading your blog posts and trying your recipes. Thanks for doing what you do!!! It makes it easier for us that are still navigating our way through the gluten-free world. šŸ™‚
      kelly

Leave a Reply

