Meet Mr. Acorn Squash and a Recipe!

(graphic from: http://www.graphicshunt.com)

Someone PLEASE tell me that I am not the only one confused by the millions of kinds of squash that line the grocery store wall!! Especially in the fall, when it’s squash time!

Maybe I would care more if squash was “my thing,” but sadly it’s not. I love 99% of all fruits and vegetables. I am a natural plant lover. But squash, not so much my thing. Particularly the ones that are orange. Eww, total baby food.

I really want to like squash. Actually, I really want to love squash!!

There are so many kinds spread out in the produce section during this time of year, I just want to take them home and bake them all. But then it comes down to the actual act of putting it in my mouth and swallowing it. *sigh* I’m trying here, people.

Last week, I met a new squash friend. His name was Mr. Acorn Squash. “Hello…”

(graphic from: nutritionmythbusters.com)

He’s cute and festive looking for fall, right?

My four kids AND my husband had no idea who this Mr. Acorn Squash was, and what I going to do with him. But all their mouths drool over any kind of squash, so they watched me with eager eyes.

Simple Acorn Squash

  • 1 Acorn Squash
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 applesauce
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon

Cut squash in half and scrap out seed cavity. Place cut side down on a baking dish and fill dish with 1/4-inch of water. Bake for 35 minutes. Turn squash over. Mix maple syrup, applesauce, and cinnamon in a bowl and fill the squash halves. Bake another 15 minutes.

The conclusion by the five other people that live in my house: a loud, resounding “YUM!”

My family loved it so much they made a whole meal of it.

I watched my family scarf down Mr. Acorn Squash, with a warm little heart that I made something they all enjoyed so much. Over in my corner of the table, though, I was quietly eating my apples and peanut butter.

…of course that was after my “no, thank you” bite. 😉

Kelly

 

Leave a Reply

