A Few of my Favorite Things

I know it’s not the season for a “favorite things” list, but I decided to just go ahead, buck tradition, and just do it! All these items were found at my regular grocery store. No special shopping required!

Here is a list a just a few of my favorite things:

1. Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips: They come in Mega Chunks and also the chips version. They are dairy, nut and soy free with an ingredient list of only 3 items: evaporated cane juice, natural chocolate liquor, and non-dairy cocoa butter. They are a great way to add some chocolate into baking or even enjoy as a small treat 😉

 

2. Baked Lentil Chips: Made with bean flour and lightly sprayed with oil, these chips aren’t perfect, but are a good alternative to regular potato chips! They taste very similar to pita chips and only 25 calories (of the 110 calories per serving) come from fat. They come in a variety of flavors.

 

 

 

3. No-sugar added Natural Applesauce: What’s not to love about applesauce! Unfortunately, quite bit of applesauce is sweetened with sugar or even Splenda. Apples are naturally sweet, and the individual cups make a great snack or pack it in a lunch. (Just don’t forget a spoon!) Baking with applesauce is a easy way to reduce the fat in your baking by half! If a recipe calls for 1 cup of butter, replace half with applesauce. It doesn’t affect the flavor or texture.

4. Quinoa: Quinoa is a little seed with quite a bit of baking and cooking power! My kids took a little time to “warm up to” quinoa, but now they love it and don’t mind some of the crazy ways I use it in dishes. It’s very similar to couscous, but is not made from wheat. Click here to find out more about it.

 

 

 

5. Mason Jars: Okay, obviously, this is not edible! But I really honestly love mason jars. I use them in my pantry to store things in like this picture. It makes my pantry appear clean and organized. I started using them about a year ago, when I started buying more bulk items. I worried about my kids dropping them and shattered glass everywhere. A year later, we have had zero mason jar accidents. They are not break proof and I’ll admit, I’ve done most of the dropping, but they can withstand quite a bit. (If you’d like to see my pantry, check this out.)

 

And those are just “a few of my faaaavorite things….”

Kelly

3 thoughts on “A Few of my Favorite Things

Leave a Reply

