Happy Thanksgiving….2009!?!

Two weeks from today is Thanksgiving. The holiday is meant to be a time of Thanksgiving—meaning giving THANKS for the blessings God has provided for us.

Thanksgiving also means a time a feasting (a.k.a. over eating), watching football, time with family and friends, and parades (my hubby hates watching parades, so I had to throw this one in because I love watching them!).

Whether your Thanksgiving is just you or 20 family members and friends. Or if you celebrate with a “tofu-turkey,” regular ol’ turkey, fried turkey, tur-ducken, or whatever….chances are we all will bond on that day with the same old feeling after indulging in a large meal: naptime!

I have been host of our family’s Thanksgiving for several years now. It’s a wonderful time to have all my side of the family stayin’ cozy in our house and eatin’ lots of good food. Our Thanksgivings have changed over the past few years. I am a geek and have actually kept my menu planning notes from all the Thanksgivings I’ve hosted. (Please don’t make fun of me…) I decided to share a few:

Happy Thanksgiving 2009

Menu:

  • Turkey with stuffing (oven baked with skin on and stuffed with Pepperidge Farm Stuffing.)
  • Mashed potatoes and gravy
  • Green bean casserole
  • Rolls
  • Carrots (probably soaking in butter…)
  • Sweet potato pie (the ones with the marshmallows)
  • Cranberry sauce
  • Pumpkin Cheesecake
  • Schwans Pecan Pie (*gringe!*)
  • Pumpkin cookies

The menu probably wasn’t much different than most Americans.

Well, in 2011, I decided to change it up a bit. Our menu looked a little different because Shawn and I had made some diet changes. It really would’ve been a great blogging opportunity…”How to Celebrate Thanksgiving without Several Traditional Items on the Menu.” I checked first with the family to make sure it was okay to change it up. They all said they were okay with it, so I pushed forward:

Happy Thanksgiving 2011

Menu:

  • Turkey (oven roasted without stuffing)
  • Mashed potatoes with gravy (using arrowroot powder instead of cornstarch)
  • Sauteed green beans with onions
  • Butternut squash
  • Mashed sweet potatoes (minus the sugar and the marshmallows!)
  • Cranberry sauce (using maple syrup for the sweetener)
  • Cranberry bread (using coconut flour)
  • Pumpkin pie (using a grain-free crust)

The point wasn’t to buck-traditional items and make them taste funny, it was to see if I could do it. It was my personal challenge: could I really make a healthier Thanksgiving dinner that tasted awesome.

My personal feelings on Thanksgiving and eating off the normal diet has not changed. I believe it is okay to have one day, or meal, of indulgence. It is the continuous indulgences that make the scale go up…not just the one special Thursday meal.

I have two weeks to plan the big day, and I plan on continuing my personal challenge, to make a healthier Thanksgiving dinner.

What are your plans for Thanksgiving?

Kelly

 

3 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving….2009!?!

  1. This will be the first year where we don’t have a full turkey. I did give in and said they can have a turkey breast. Most everything else will be plant based though 🙂

  2. My menu is planned out. I’m taking our traditional favorites and making them healthier. The other families we are meeting with will be bringing turkey, stuffed shells, and pies.
    I loved seeing your Thanksgiving pictures! Thanks or sharing!

Leave a Reply

