Recipe: Roasted Maple Cranberry Sauce

One week until the BIG day (Thanksgiving) and I have yet to actually sit down and plan a menu. I like to wait until the last minute, and I have no idea why I put that kind of stress on myself. But such is!

Honestly, I think I’m still in denial of the calendar and just how early Thanksgiving is this year. Usually my husbands birthday is thrown into the mix of things, but this year even that is a week later in the season than usual.

I thought I would recipe share today: Roasted Maple Cranberry Sauce. This is the sauce I made last year, and it turned out pretty good. It also does not include the typical ‘2 cups of sugar’ normal cranberry sauce calls for….YIKES!

This recipe comes from the book “The Best of Clean Eating” from the editors of Clean Eating Magazine. This will be on my Thanksgiving table this year. Well, I guess I have on thing planned!

Roasted Maple Cranberry Sauce

  • 3 cups fresh or frozen cranberries
  • 1/4 cup and 2 tbsp real maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1 lime
  • 1 shallot, minced
  • 1/2 tsp dried tarragon
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt

Place cranberries on a pie plate and drizzle with quarter cup maple syrup and water. Using a zester, peel strips of lime; stir into mixture.

Bake, uncovered, in a preheated 350 degree F oven, stirring occasionally, until cranberries break and sauce is bubbly, about one hour. Remove from oven. Squeeze in juice from lime and stir in remaining two tablespoons syrup, along with shallot, tarragon, and salt.

Time-Saving Tip: The sauce will keep well, covered and refrigerated, for up to two weeks–the flavor will blend and improve the longer it sits. Bring to room temperature before serving.

Enjoy!
Kelly

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Roasted Maple Cranberry Sauce

Leave a comment